How Many Types of Molly Fish Are There? (Discover Now)

Have you ever wondered about the different types of Molly Fish? Are you interested in learning more about their unique characteristics? If so, then this article is for you! We’ll explore the many types of Molly Fish and uncover the details about their life cycle, diet, and other interesting facts.

So, let’s dive into the world of Molly Fish and discover just how many types of Molly Fish there are!

How Many Types Of Molly Fish Are There?

Molly fish are a popular species of aquarium fish, renowned for their vibrant colors and hardiness.

They are live-bearing fish, meaning they give birth to live young instead of laying eggs.

There are an estimated 35 different types of mollies, including the Sailfin Molly, Black Molly, Lyretail Molly, Golden Molly, Dalmatian Molly, and Balloon Molly.

The Sailfin Molly is easily distinguishable by its single dorsal fin running the length of its back, while the Black Molly has a more square-shaped body.

The Lyretail Molly is recognizable by its long, flowing tail fin, resembling a lyre.

The Golden Molly is a pale yellow color and the Dalmatian Molly has black spots on its white body.

The Balloon Molly is most easily identifiable by its large belly and wide head.

In addition to these species, there is also the Endlers Livebearer, a wild species of molly, as well as various hybrids created by crossing different species.

With so many different types of mollies available, they make for an interesting and diverse species to keep in an aquarium.

How Many Species Of Molly Are There?

The exact number of molly species is difficult to assess, as it is estimated that there are between 30 and 55 species, depending on the classification used.

For example, the Poecilia latipinna species, commonly known as the sailfin molly, is sometimes classified as two separate species, P.

latipinna and P.


Mollies are part of the Poeciliidae family, a large group of fish that live in freshwater, brackish, and marine environments.

This family also includes swordtails, guppies, and other species.

Within the molly family, there are several genera, such as Mollienesia, Poecilia, and Poeciliopsis.

Mollies come in a variety of colors, shapes, and sizes, depending on the species.

They are usually silver-white, although some may have black, brown, yellow, or green markings.

The size of mollies can range from small, only a few inches long, to large, up to 10 inches in length.

Mollies are peaceful, hardy fish, making them ideal for aquarium hobbyists.

They are also highly adaptable, making them suitable for many tank environments.

In conclusion, the exact number of molly species is difficult to determine due to differing classifications.

However, it is estimated that there are between 30 and 55 species of mollies in the Poeciliidae family.

What Are The Most Common Molly Fish?

Molly fish are popular amongst both beginner and experienced aquarists.

These colorful and hardy creatures are easy to care for, making them a great choice for any home aquarium.

There are many varieties of mollies, such as short-finned, long-finned, sailfin, and dalmation.

Short-finned mollies (Poecilia sphenops) usually have a rounded body with a bright or dark stripe running down their sides.

They typically have orange or yellow coloring that fades to white on their lower bodies.

These mollies are active and make great additions to community tanks.

The sailfin molly (Poecilia latipinna) has a long, slender body with a black stripe running along its sides.

It has a metallic sheen to its scales, and many have large, colorful fins.

This peaceful species is also easy to care for, making it a great choice for beginners.

The dalmation molly (Poecilia velifera) has a deep, oval-shaped body with black spots scattered across it.

It is usually a dark color, with orange or yellow fins and a silver sheen to its scales.

These mollies are very peaceful, and enjoy swimming in groups, making them ideal for community tanks.

No matter which type of molly fish you choose, they will make a beautiful addition to any home aquarium.

With their bright colors and hardy nature, molly fish are a great choice for any aquarist.

What Is 24K Molly?

24K Molly, also known as MDMA or Ecstasy, is a recreational drug commonly found in powder or tablet form.

It’s often taken orally and is a popular club drug due to its effects of increased energy, pleasure, emotional warmth, and distorted perceptions of time and space.

People who take 24K Molly seek a euphoric state and increased empathy, connection, and intimacy.

The name 24K Molly is derived from the slang term “molly,” which stands for the chemical methylenedioxymethamphetamine.

The “24K” in the name is a reference to the drug’s assumed purity of 24 karats or higher, but in reality, its purity is often much lower than what is claimed.

24K Molly is dangerous and can cause significant short-term and long-term harm.

Short-term effects include muscle tension, teeth clenching, nausea, increased blood pressure, chills, and blurred vision.

Long-term effects may include insomnia, depression, confusion, anxiety, and memory loss.

Due to the unknown purity of the drug and its unpredictable effects, it’s strongly recommended to not take 24K Molly or any other recreational drugs.

If you or someone you know is struggling with recreational drug use, it’s important to seek help immediately.

What Is The Biggest Molly Fish?

The Sailfin Molly, also known as Poecilia latipinna, is the largest species of molly fish.

Native to the Gulf of Mexico and parts of Central America, these fish can grow up to six inches in length and prefer water temperatures between 75-86F.

They are typically silver or gray in color, with a large yellow-tinted dorsal fin and a yellow or blue sheen to their scales.

Sailfin Mollies are considered a peaceful species and should be kept in groups of at least 6-8 fish.

They are omnivores, meaning they’ll eat both plant and animal-based foods.

They also enjoy grazing on algae, so having some floating plants in their tank is a great way to keep them healthy and happy.

It’s important to note that Sailfin Mollies are sensitive to water quality, so they need good filtration and frequent water changes.

Additionally, they should never be kept with aggressive fish, as they may become stressed.

With the right care, these fish can live for up to four years in captivity.

Overall, Sailfin Mollies are an attractive species of fish that make a wonderful addition to any aquarium.

Not only are they easy to care for, but they also add a vibrant splash of color and personality to any tank.

Final Thoughts

So, how many types of Molly Fish are there? The answer is a whopping 12! Each type of Molly Fish has its own unique characteristics, including different colors, sizes, and life cycles.

Now that you know more about Molly Fish, why not take a closer look at them and discover their fascinating world? With just a little bit of research, you can be an expert on Molly Fish in no time!


James is a creative and imaginative individual. He loves to write and express himself through the written word. He is also a passionate pet fish owner, caring for and nurturing his fish with great enthusiasm.

Recent Posts